Click to Home

Go To Search

Service Center
Connect With Us

About Adams County
Adams County is located in northeastern Colorado.  The county is 18 miles wide and 72 miles long, ranging from urban uses in the western portions of the county, to crop and grazing land in the central and eastern portions. 
Rocky Mountain Arsenal
Agricultural activities are the single largest land use throughout the county, accounting for more than three quarters of the land area. Most irrigated farm land is located in the northwest section of the county, where it is supported by an extensive network of canals. The central and eastern portions of Adams County, including the Town of Bennett, are agriculturally based.

The western section of the county includes a number of urbanized communities, including Brighton, Commerce City, Federal Heights, NorthglennThornton and portions of ArvadaAurora and Westminster.
Adams County Board of Commissioners
The role of the Adams County Board of County Commissioners is to manage the affairs of the county as authorized by the state. Powers granted to the board by the state are broad, which allow the board independence in judgment. The board performs legislative, executive and quasi-judicial functions and serves as the legislative, policy-making and administrative body governing the unincorporated areas of Adams County.

The county manager is appointed by the board to carry out policy directions and to supervise and coordinate the work of the staff in the departments that fall under direct control of the board.

The county attorney is appointed by the board and provides legal advice and representation for the board. The County Attorney, with the approval of the board, also advises and represents all other Adams County elected officials, the county manager, department and division heads, and appointed commissions, boards and committees.

Other Elected Officials
The other constitutional officers elected to four-year terms are the Assessor, Clerk & Recorder, Coroner, District Attorney, Treasurer, Sheriff and Surveyor. Their powers and duties are prescribed by state statute.  The county commissioners have no direct authority over the other elected officials in the county except that commissioners approve budgets for all other elected officials’ departments.