Cultural Facilities Sales Tax


Supporting Local Science & Culture

In 1988, voters in the Denver metro area created the Scientific and Cultural Facilities District (SCFD) to provide a consistent source of unrestricted funding to scientific and cultural organizations. The district is comprised of the following seven counties:

Voters reaffirmed their support of the SCFD tax in 1994, and most recently, voters extended their support of culture by approving the SCFD legislation in November 2004 with 65 percent voter approval. SCFD will now expire on June 30, 2030.

Cultural Facilities Sales Tax Rate

  • Effective July 1, 2006, the SCFD tax of 0.1 percent applied to all areas within Adams County boundaries.