County Information

Adams County is in the Northeast quadrant of Metro Denver, Colorado. The county is 17 miles north to south, 72 miles east to west, for a total of 1,182 square miles. It is the 5th largest county in the state, with an estimated 461,000 citizens (2012) and the 10th highest growth rate at 2.2%, according to the 2010 U.S. Census. For more in-depth information on the county please visit Demographics/ County Profile.

The Adams County Office of Emergency Management works with the local municipalities and fire districts to ensure a coordinated response and share available resources. The OEM also works with neighboring counties Arapahoe, Boulder, Broomfield, Denver, Jefferson, Morgan, Washington and Weld, to share best practices and provide county to county mutual aid when needed.

Local Municipalities

The following municipalities are located within Adams County. Please note that some are listed because a portion of the city lies within Adams County borders. Please explore the links below if you are interested in specific city information.

City of Arvada
8101 Ralston Rd.,
Arvada, CO 80001-8101

City of Aurora
15151 E. Alameda Pkwy.
Aurora, CO 80012

City of Brighton
22 S. Fourth Ave.
Brighton, CO 80601

City of Commerce City
5291 E. 60th Ave.
Commerce City, CO 80022

City of Federal Heights
2380 W. 90th Ave.
Federal Heights, CO 80260

City of Northglenn
11701 Community Center Dr.
Northglenn, CO 80233


City of Thornton
9500 Civic Center Dr.
Thornton, CO 80229

City of Westminster
4800 W. 92nd Ave.
Westminster, CO 80031

Town of Bennett
355 Fourth St.
Bennett, CO 80102

Local Fire Districts

There are ten fire districts, four municipal fire departments, and one corporate fire department that serve the municipalities and unincorporated Adams County. Each fire district is responsible for planning, building of mutual aid agreements and the enforcement of the International Fire Code within their district. Please contact your local fire districts if you have any specific questions or if you’d just like to thank them for their service.

Map of Fire Districts Serving Adams County

Adams County Fire Rescue
8055 N. Washington St.
Denver, CO 80229

Aurora Fire Rescue
15151 E. Alameda Pkwy.
Aurora, CO 80012

Bennett Fire Protection District
825 Shari’s Ct.
Bennett, CO 80102

Brighton Fire Rescue District
500 S. 4th Ave., 3rd Floor
Brighton, CO 80601

Byers Fire Protection District #9
100 N. Main St.
Byers, CO 80103

Deer Trail Fire Protection District
P.O. Box 257
Deer Trail, CO 80105

Federal Heights Fire Department
2400 W. 90th Ave.
Federal Heights, CO 80260

North Metro Fire Rescue District
101 Lamar St.
Broomfield, CO 80020

Sable-Altura Fire Protection District
26900 E. Colfax Ave.
Aurora, CO 80018

South Adams County Fire Protection District
6550 E. 72nd Ave.
Commerce City, CO 80022

Southeast Weld Fire Protection District
P.O. Box 1
Keenesburg, CO 80643

Strasburg Fire Protection District
56281 E. Colfax Ave.
Strasburg, CO 80136

Suncor Fire Department
5801 Brighton Blvd.
Commerce City, CO 80022

Thornton Fire Department
9500 Civic Center Dr.
Thornton, CO 80229

Westminster Fire Department
9110 Yates St.
Westminster, CO 80031