In 2021, the Colorado General Assembly enacted House Bill 21-1162, Management of Plastic Products. This new state law requires that grocery, retail, and convenience stores collect a $0.10 fee on each single-use plastic or recyclable paper carryout bag provided to their customers.
Beginning Jan. 1, 2023, stores in unincorporated Adams County are required to collect a $0.10 fee on each single-use plastic or recyclable paper carryout bag provided to their customers.
THERE ARE SOME EXCEPTIONS:
- Small businesses (any business with three or fewer locations, all in Colorado)
- Pharmacies and dry cleaners
- Goods that are wrapped to prevent contamination, such as meat, seafood, or plants
- Farmers and roadside markets
- Customers who show proof they are enrolled in federal or state food assistance programs, such as SNAP or WIC
BRING YOUR OWN BAG TO:
Reduce Waste | Prevent Litter | Protect Rivers and Streams
MAKE BRINGING YOUR OWN BAG A HABIT:
- Write "Bring Bags" at the top of your grocery list and put your bags with your list.
- Post a reminder by your door or on your dashboard.
- Hang your bags by your door or put them back in your car or bike basket as soon as you empty and clean them.
- Store or clip an extra bag in your purse or backpack.
- Keep a spare bag at work.
- Leave a few bags in your car.
- Put your coupons in your bag.
- If you regularly shop on a set day of the week, put a reminder in your phone or on your calendar to bring your bags.
For more information about the bag fee, visit the Colorado State website.
Retailers must remit carryout bag fees collected, on a quarterly basis, using this form: Carryout Bag Fee Return Form.