A newly purchased vehicle is subject to vehicle registration late fees 61 days after the purchase date.
Vehicle registration late fees are imposed when payment for renewing your vehicle is not received timely. With the exception of temporary permits, owners receive a one month grace period after their registration expires.
The $25-per-month late fee applies to any portion of the subsequent months for up to four months. The total amount assessed will not exceed the $100 late fee limit.
Effective July 1, 2010, the late fee will be $10 for vehicles without motive power that weigh 16,000 pounds or less, that are subject to taxation, and that are not registered when required by law. The weight of a trailer of any kind is the empty weight. C.R.S. 42-3-112(1.7) Vehicles without motive power include trailers, camper trailers, trailer coaches, multipurpose trailers and special mobile machinery without motive power.
Late fees accrued prior to July 1, 2010 will be included in the late fee assessed on or after July 1, 2010.
Example: Transaction date is July 15, 2010. The customer's registration for a camper trailer expired in February 2010 with a one-month grace of March 2010. The late fee due is $85. This includes $25 each month for the months of April, May, and June and $10 for July.
Late Fee Waivers
There are instances when the registration late fees may be waived.
If the owner of a vehicle who is active in the military serving outside Colorado when the registration grace period expires and the vehicle has not been operated on any public highway in Colorado between the time the registration period expired, including the grace period and the time the vehicle is registered.
If a vehicle is used to operate a commercial business as part of the normal operation of the business is exempt late fees if the vehicle has not been operated on any public highway in Colorado for one full registration period.
If a vehicle was reported as stolen and then recovered.
The $10 late fee is not eligible for the late fee waiver or reduction authorized pursuant to HB10-1212, except for commercial vehicle trailers and farm vehicle trailers. See commercial definitions, example below and C.R.S. 42-3-112(1,5)(b) for additional details.
C.R.S. 42-1-102(17.5) "Commercial Vehicle" means a vehicle used to transport cargo or passengers for profit, hire, or otherwise to further the purposes of a business or commercial enterprise.
Example: Transaction date is July 20, 2010. Registration of a commercial trailer expired February 2010 with a one-month grace of March 2010. The late fee due is $85. This includes $25 each month for the months of April, May and June and $10 for the month of July.
The $10 late fee may be reduced or waived on this commercial trailer.
Refund Late Fees (already paid)
If you feel you were charged late fees in error you can submit a Late Fee Review and Refund Request.
If a vehicle is subject to taxation under this article is not registered when required by law, the vehicle owner shall pay a late fee of twenty-five dollars for each month or portion of a month following the expiration of the registration period, or, if applicable, the expiration of the grace period described in C.R.S. 42-3-114 for which the vehicle is unregistered; except that the amount of the late fee shall not exceed one hundred dollars. The late fee is due when the vehicle is registered. When a late fee exemption is denied at the county, kiosk or online, the customer must pay the late fee and may submit a request for further review to the Executive Director of the Department of Revenue within 30 days from the payment date of the late fee.
Incorrect late fee charges paid after July 1, 2020 (related to Governor’s orders)
Late fees were waived from March through June 2020 due to Governor’s Orders for vehicle registrations affected by office or emissions testing stations closures. It was determined that some registrations processed on or after July 1, 2020 may have been charged incorrect late fees. The counties and the Department of Revenue are working to identify incorrect charges and generate refunds as applicable. If you were charged a late fee in error, there is no need to request the refund; overpayments will be automatically mailed in the month of September.
Kiosk and Online Renewal Late Fee Calculations (relates to Governor’s orders)
Programming has not been completed to collect the applicable late fees on our kiosk or e-services options correctly.
If you used or plan to use the online services to renew your vehicle registration and late fees are charged in error, there is no need to request the refund; overpayments will be automatically mailed in the month of November.
If your registration expired prior to May 2020, Adams County Clerk and Recorder strongly encourages registration renewals be mailed, dropped in our dropbox locations, or completed by phone at 720.523.6010. The following information identifies valid late fees to remit with your renewal.
Previous Expire dates registered in the month of July 2020:
October 2019 and before - $100
November 2019 - $75
December 2019 - $50
January 2020 - May 2020 - $25
June 2020 - No late fee
Registered in August 2020:
November 2019 and before - $100
December 2019 - $75
January 2020 - May 2020 - $50
June 2020 - $25
July 2020 - No late fee
If you have further questions regarding refunds, please contact us 7 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Tuesday - Friday at 720.523.6010.