Treasurer’s Office Accepting Tax Payments Throughout Closure

In late March, Governor Jared Polis authorized county treasurers to waive delinquent interest on property tax payments through April 20 in Executive Order D 2020-012. Earlier this month, Polis announced in a press conference he was authorizing the treasurers to continue to waive interest on first half real property payments and extended that through April 30.

In addition to the waiver of interest, the provision also authorizes county treasurers to accept multiple payments from any real property taxpayer ahead of payment deadlines and encourages taxpayers to make second-installment payments on or before the June 15 deadline. Adams County Treasurer Lisa L. Culpepper, J.D. and her staff will continue to honor these recommendations from Polis.

The treasurer can fashion payment plans for business personal property tax, if need be. Business owners should email their request for a payment plan on their P accounts to [email protected]. The decision is on a case-by-case basis.

“While the governor spoke about many of the important aspects of our state economy during the pandemic, he specifically addressed the county treasurers’ authority for setting property tax payment plans,” says Culpepper. “This was a direct request from the Adams, Boulder, Jefferson, and, Summit County Treasurers, and we [the Treasurers] continue in our frequent communications with the governor’s office to assist the taxpayers of our respective counties.”

Adams County offices will remain closed until June 1, 2020. Treasury and tax payment services are available online or over the phone—including payment of property taxes. There are many ways residents can submit tax payments:

  • Via USPS mail – and for current year payments, we honor the postmark
  • Online via through our web payment system (card payments do get charged an additional 2.5% by the merchant, but e-check payments do not have an additional charge)
  • Over the phone at 720.523.6160, option 2 (e-check payments have no additional charge)
  • At the Adams County Government Center, 4430 S. Adams County Pkwy., Brighton, in the slot of the BLACK drop box
  • At a 24-hour BALLOT drop box*
    • Aurora Motor Vehicle – 3449 N. Chambers Rd., Aurora
    • Commerce City Sheriff’s Substation – 4201 E. 72nd Ave., Commerce City
    • Adams County Human Services Center – 11860 Pecos St., Westminster
    • Westminster Motor Vehicle – 8452 N. Federal Blvd., Westminster
    • Strasburg Sheriff’s Substation – 2550 Strasburg Rd., Strasburg

“It’s important for our residents, landowners, and business owners to know that while the Treasury office is closed to the public, they can still make their property tax payments, and all of our staff are working, whether they’re in office or remote, to keep the county’s treasury functions working as normal,” says Culpepper. “We appreciate the taxpayer’s patience and understanding as we adapt to this new process. Any questions regarding payment of taxes should be directed to [email protected] or 720.523.6160.”

*Please note, these boxes should not be used for city utility bills.