Citizens Can Now Renew License Plates at 20 Kiosks in 12 Colorado Counties

Renewing your license plates in Colorado is now exciting and much easier. Citizens in 12 Colorado counties now have the option to renew their vehicle registration at any of the 20 self-service kiosks located in any of those participating counties.

“As government officials, we have a responsibility to utilize technology for the convenience of our citizens,” says Adams County Clerk and Recorder Stan Martin. “If you live in one county but shop, work, attend school or go on vacation in another participating county, you can use any kiosk along the way to renew your license plate. You’ll walk away with your tabs in minutes.”

The kiosks are available to residents of Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Broomfield, Douglas, El Paso, Freemont, Jefferson, La Plata, Larimer, Mesa and Weld counties. However, more counties may authorize kiosk transactions for residents later this year. Find your nearest kiosk at

“Our goal at the Motor Vehicle office has been to reduce wait times, and, since 2015, we’ve decreased the average wait time by 85%,” Martin says. “These new innovative kiosks will help that trend and provide quick and friendly service to the citizens of Adams County.”

The kiosks are yellow machines that look similar to an ATM. To use one, simply type your license plate number on the touch screen or scan the barcode on your renewal postcard; then, pay by check, credit or debit card. The kiosk will instantly print your receipt, vehicle registration and license plate tabs.

There are a couple of items to consider before using a kiosk:

  • If your vehicle requires an emissions test, you’ll need to complete it at least two business days before using a kiosk.
  • If you have recently changed or updated your auto insurance, please wait four business days before using a kiosk.
  • If your grace period for your renewal has ended, you’ll need to visit one of our six Motor Vehicle locations in Adams County

Kiosk Locations

Residents of the following counties can use a renewal kiosk in any of these locations:

Adams County
Westminster Motor Vehicle Office, 8452 Federal Blvd., Westminster

Arapahoe County
Arapahoe County Clerk and Recorder Aurora Branch, 490 S. Chambers Rd., Aurora
Arapahoe County Clerk and Recorder Centennial Branch, 6954 S. Lima St., Centennial    
AAA Southglenn Office, 7400 S. University Blvd., Centennial
Arapahoe County Administration Building, 5334 S. Prince St., Littleton

Boulder County
Boulder County Clerk and Recorder's Office, 1750 33rd St., Boulder

Broomfield County
Paul Derda Recreation Center, 13201 Lowell Blvd., Broomfield

Douglas County
Douglas County Wilcox Building, 301 Wilcox St., Castle Rock
Park Meadows Center, 9350 Heritage Hills Circle, Lone Tree

El Paso County
Centennial Hall, 200 S. Cascade Ave., Colorado Springs
Citizens Service Center, 1675 W. Garden of the Gods, Colorado Springs    
Powers Office, 5650 Industrial Pl., Colorado Springs
Union Town Center, 8830 N. Union Blvd., Colorado Springs

Freemont County
Fremont County Administration Building, 615 Macon Ave., Room 102, Canon City 

Jefferson County
Lakewood Motor Vehicle Office, 2099 Wadsworth Blvd., Ste. K, Lakewood

La Plata County
Durango Motor Vehicle Office, 98 Everett St., Ste. A, Durango
Pine River Library, 395 Bayfield Center Dr., Bayfield

Larimer County
Larimer County Courthouse, 200 W. Oak St., Fort Collins 

Mesa County
Mesa County Motor Vehicle Office, 200 S. Spruce St., Grand Junction        

Weld County
Greeley Motor Vehicle Office, 1402 N. 17th Ave., Greeley    

As another option, Coloradans can also renew their license plates online at For more information about Motor Vehicle services in Adams County, please call 720-523-6010 or visit