More Than $1 Million in Scholarships Awarded to County Students

Fifty-eight Adams County high school students were awarded scholarships totaling more than $1 million on Tuesday, May 17, through the Adams County Scholarship Fund. Adams County Commissioners introduced the Scholarship Fund in 2016, making this the seventh group of recipients, in partnership with the Colorado Department of Higher Education's Colorado Opportunity Scholarship Initiative.

“We are proud to support these worthy students by providing a path to help them further their education,” said Lynn Baca, Chair of the Board of Commissioners. “These scholarships will alleviate some of the worries of paying for college, and we send our best wishes to all the student recipients.”

The scholarships were funded with the voter-approved three percent sales tax on retail marijuana sales in the county. In addition, the Colorado Opportunity Scholarship Initiative matched the sales tax funds to increase the scholarship pool. First-generation and low-income high school seniors were among those eligible to apply for one of the scholarships.

The Board of Commissioners identified Adams County Education Consortium (ACEC) as the fiscal agent for the Adams County Scholarship Fund. ACEC works directly with county school districts or school district foundations. Those include Adams 12 Five Star Schools, Adams 14 Education Foundation, School District 27J Education Foundation, Mapleton District 1 Education Foundation, Westminster District 50 Education Foundation, Strasburg School District 31J, and Bennett School District 29J.

Adams 12 Five Star Schools
Maryam Akbari, $20,714.28 scholarship
Zora Alexander, $20,714.28 scholarship
Yesenia Aragon, $20,714.28 scholarship
Abhiyan Barailee, $20,714.28 scholarship
Erick Becerril Barbaosa, $20,714.28 scholarship
Isabela Castaneda Rodelo, $20,714.28 scholarship
Kamyar Dargahi, $20,714.28 scholarship
Alondra Eguino, $20,714.28 scholarship
Marcus Farmer, $20,714.28 scholarship
Brayden Gibbens, $20,714.28 scholarship
Quianna Gooch, $20,714.28 scholarship
Sarai Ibuado Castro, $20,714.28 scholarship
Madison Jenks, $20,714.28 scholarship
Jorge Lopez Garcia, $20,714.28 scholarship
Angel Montoya, $20,714.28 scholarship
Solomon Mushabe, $20,714.28 scholarship
Saima Omar, $20,714.28 scholarship
Erika Salas Palos, $20,714.28 scholarship
Delina Servin, $20,714.28 scholarship
Evelyn Smith, $20,714.28 scholarship
Sarthak Tiwari, $20,714.28 scholarship

Adams County School District 14
Cesar Garcia, $15,000 scholarship
Liliya Gokh, $15,000 scholarship
Isai Hernandez, $15,000 scholarship
Angela Macias, $15,000 scholarship
Ajaiye Mitchell, $15,000 scholarship
Claudia Murillo, $15,000 scholarship
Yuvia Rocha, $15,000 scholarship
Diana Soto-Macias, $15,000 scholarship
Katherine Teter, $15,000 scholarship
Efren Vidana, $15,000 scholarship

Bennett 29J
Katelyn Chapman, $18,000 scholarship

Mapleton Public Schools
Veronica Aguilar-Gonzalez, $10,000 scholarship
Citlali Campos, $10,000 scholarship
Aaron Corral, $10,000 scholarship
Anette De Santiago, $20,000 scholarship
Yanetzy Estrada Sanchez, $10,000 scholarship
Jocelyn Hernandez, $10,000 scholarship
Priscila Holguin Munoz, $10,000 scholarship
Carmen Marmolejo, $10,000 scholarship
Ari Quezada Caro, $20,000 scholarship
Alexia Tavarez, $20,000 scholarship

School District 27J
Nabor Alvarez, $26,000 scholarship
Angelo Flores, $26,000 scholarship
Salina Le, $26,000 scholarship
Madisyn Pinney, $26,000 scholarship
Emiliano Salcido, $26,000 scholarship

Strasburg School District 31J
Emma Atkinson, $11,500 scholarship
Tallin Hall, $11,500 scholarship

Westminster Public Schools
Makenzie Allen, $15,555 scholarship
Victoria Butler, $15,555 scholarship
Kaitlyn Dunaway, $15,555 scholarship
Michelle Le, $15,555 scholarship
Laura Nguyen, $15,555 scholarship
Isabella Perez, $15,555 scholarship
Valeria Salayandia Adame, $15,555 scholarship
Hailey Wong, $15,555 scholarship
Yinlai Yang, $15,555 scholarship