RTD set to open N Line for passenger service on Sept. 21

DENVER (June 23, 2020) – The Regional Transportation District (RTD) today announced that it will open its newest commuter rail corridor, the N Line, on Sept. 21. The rail line will serve Denver, Commerce City, Northglenn and Thornton and include a stop at the National Western Complex.

The N Line includes six new stations, with a total of 2,480 new parking spaces. As part of a promotional pilot program, RTD will offer a local fare for travel on the entirety of the line during its first six months of operation.

The N Line is the first electrified commuter rail line that RTD will operate.The two-car commuter rail trains on the N Line include seating for 91 passengers in each car, two ADA-compliant seating areas, luggage racks, overhead carry-on storage areas, and space for skis and bikes. Passengers board at the same level as station platforms.

Construction on the line began in March 2014. When the corridor is complete, it will reach North Adams County and include two additional stations, for a total of eight new stations. The remaining 5.5 miles of the corridor will be built as funds become available.

Read more.